Register your interest
How to apply for training
Training Courses and Conferences
Online Safeguarding Level One Training
General information
Charging policy
Training Guidance
Single Agency Safeguarding Training Minimum Standards
Single Agency Training Checklist
Learning and Development strategy
Data Protection
External Resources
Bite size and evening and Saturday training opportunities
Contact Us
Documents for Trainers

Training Guidance

Kingston and Richmond Safeguarding Children Board maintains training levels in line with guidance in Working Together to Safeguard Children and has organised its training into different levels of knowledge and skills. The level required depends on the degree of contact you have with children and families and your professional role. All practitioners and managers must be able to work effectively with others, within their agencies and across professional boundaries.

Our training is designed to offer a multi-agency experience so that professionals and volunteers can learn and network with workers and volunteers from other agencies. Most courses are open to all professionals and volunteers who work with Kingston and Richmond children and/or families. Please note from the charts below that you need to identify your group and then you can choose, in consultation with your manager, which courses are best suited to your role.

Remember that you need to attend refresher courses in order to update your basic awareness of safeguarding and child protection. This may involve attending courses from levels 1 or 2 even if your role puts you at a different level. It may be that your own agency has its individual way of identifying training levels. In order to make the best choices from our programme you need to look at the training pathway and occupational group charts below which are designed to work for all agencies involved in safeguarding and child protection.

How to use the charts: 
  1. First look at the occupational group chart and find either your role or the nearest equivalent.
  2. Look at the training pathway chart to see which course levels you should be looking for. Don’t forget that even if you are in Group 3 upwards you still need to include Level 1 and 2 training in order to meet your specific training needs or for updating or refreshing
Professionals/volunteers and how they fit into occupational groups
Group 1 Group 1
Group 1 are generally staff and volunteers who have limited contact with children, young people and/or parents/carers.
Group 1 has a responsibility to contribute to safeguard and promote the welfare of children in the community, but do not necessarily have specific safeguarding organisational responsibilities.
Examples of who should be included: 

  • Back office staff, e.g. may use databases and systems but have no direct contact with children and families.
  • Benefits staff
  • Community Advice Centre staff
  • Environmental Health Officers
  • GP Receptionists
  • Estate Officers
  • HR Business Partners
  • Hospital Support Staff (with no contact with children and families)
  • Librarians
  • Voluntary Sector Management Committee Members
  • Recreation Assistants
  • School/Centre – cleaners, catering staff
  • Receptionists, technical staff
  • School governors (without safeguarding/child protection responsibilities)
  • Solicitors
  • Street wardens Uniformed and non-specialist police officers
Group 2 Group 2
Group 2 are generally staff and volunteers who work regularly with children and young people and with adults who are parents/carers. They have considerable professional and organisational responsibility for safeguarding and promoting children and young people’s welfare. Group 2 need the skills and knowledge to respond appropriately to Group 1 staff/volunteers that may approach them with concerns about a child’s welfare.

Examples of who should be included:
  • Audiologists
  • Childminders
  • Children’s centre staff
  • Counsellors
  • Dentists
  • Disability specialists
  • Educational psychologists
  • Educational support staff 
  • Learning mentors 
  • Mealtime supervisors
  • Nurses (district, hospital – A & E, paediatric nurses, children’s community and practice 
  • Nurse practitioners
  • Playgroup workers
  • Play workers
  • Probation officers
  • Pupil support and welfare
  • Pupil chaperones
  • Refuge staff
  • Residential workers
  • Sexual health staff 
  • Speech and language therapists
  • Sports development officers
  • Sports coaches
  • Substance misuse staff
  • Teachers 
  • Teaching assistants 
  • Unqualified social workers
  • Youth workers
Group 3 Group 3
Group 3 are generally staff working predominantly with children, young people and/or their parents/carers. They have particular responsibilities for safeguarding and child protection. 
Group 3 have a substantial degree of personal responsibility and autonomy to act on children and young people’s welfare concerns.


  • CAIT (Child Abuse Investigation Team) 
  • Police officers
  • CAMHS staff
  • Childminders
  • Community Psychiatric Nurses
  • Educational Welfare Officers
  • Family support workers
  • Family centre staff
  • Foster carers
  • GPs
  • Health Visitors
  • Hospital ward staff designated by service 
  • Mental
  • Midwives
  • Neonatal nurses
  • Paediatricians
  • Physiotherapists
  • Children’s residential workers
  • School nurses
  • Sexual health advisors
  • Qualified social workers
  • Sports club welfare officers
  • Those managing and supervising staff in groups 1,2 and 3
Group 4 Group 4 are professional advisors, named, nominated and designated officers for child protection and their deputies in all services and agencies
Group 5 Group 5 are operational managers of Groups 1-4
Examples of who should be included 
  • Operational managers at all levels including: practice supervisors; front line and operational managers
Group 6 Group 6 are members of the Safeguarding Board including:
  • Independent chairs 
  • Board members
  • Members of sub-groups
  • Group 6 also includes senior managers responsible for the strategic management of services
Please note that professionals in these groups need to attend courses at other levels in order to meet their knowledge refreshment and updating needs.

Training Pathway 


Level of Training Required


Level 1

Level 2

Level 3

Level 4

Level 5

Level 6

Group 1







Group 2






Group 3





Group 4




Group 5



Group 6





Each Group to undertake training as indicated by the 'x' in the above table.



   Document Downloads